The Living Direct Network Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for EdgeStar EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo

EdgeStar EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo

EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo - White
Average Customer Rating:
4.146 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
48 out of 55(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Review 1 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hooley

Perfect for my apartment and works great!

Date:June 9, 2015
I recently downsized to an apartment and left behind my large capacity washer and dryer. I wanted a laundry solution that did not require I take my laundry out. I did quite a bit of research on these washer/dryer combos before purchasing this Edge Star model. It fits perfectly in my small kitchen and I hook up to the kitchen sink. I am very happy with it. It does a great job. Two things I would recommend. The manual was not very detailed so review the online video produced by Edge Star. It was very helpful. Additionally, purchase a drying rack. While my laundry came out dry, Larger loads required some additional dryer time due to load capacity.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Edge Star installation and overview
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Truth

Edge Star

Date:June 5, 2015
Is a good product for what it is you have to find a cycle that works for you .Takes up small space and does a super job washing drying is another matter does alright on that
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GDubb
Location:Houston, Texas

Edgestar 2.0 Nice Set

Date:May 30, 2015
I purchased this unit to replace a stackable set that quit on me. I am very happy with the operation of the unit. It washes and drys very well for such a compact unit.. I have no complaints thus far and would highly recommend this unit to anyone needing a compact washer/dryer set.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginny
Location:Topeka, Kansas

Fantastic!

Date:July 9, 2015
I love this machine!! It washes clothes cleaner than any I have ever had. (and I am 80). The clothes feel slightly damp when the drying is finished, but I knew that when I ordered it. I moved to a smaller house and can't do stairs to get to the washroom, so I had my dishwasher - that I never use- taken out and this machine fit in that space under the counter perfectly.
I followed a suggestion from the ratings comments and ordered a drying rack which I will place in the bathtub in my extra bathroom and fold and stick in a closet when the bathroom is needed for guests. The dryer gets the clothes pretty dry but a few minutes hanging will be good. Also, as one comment said, I can choose not to pay the expense of drying the clothes in the machine and hang them on the drying rack. ($26 at local store). The clothes are wrung out extremely well and I am sure that will work. The Edge Star is also attractive.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Richard

Nice concept - Poor results

Date:May 4, 2015
The technology may work with some machines but not with this machine. It takes a very long cycle time to wash and "dry" except the items are not dry. The items needed to be line dried and took an hour to be totally dry. Once the cycle starts there is no way to stop it.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RS
Location:San Francisco, CA

The perfect solution for a small space

Date:June 12, 2015
With anything you buy you have to have realistic expectations. For a small space to have a portable washer dryer combo you couldn’t ask for a better solution. That being said here are the expectations you have to have with the system. When I read all the reviews the things I saw most people unhappy about are listed below. I knew these concerns when I purchased the system and they have not been a problem for me.
• The wash and dry cycle must complete before the door can be opened again. The combo cycle takes around 3 hours to complete. Even if you turn the system off it will not allow you to open the door till it is complete.
• The dry cycle does not use traditional methods. The dry cycle uses a condenser to take the moisture out of the cloths. Because of this method when you pull the cloths out they will still be slightly damp. If you just lay the cloths out for 5 minutes they will completely dry.
• The system does require some regular maintenance to it since it is a ventless system. The maintenance is easy to do and there is a video on youtube on how to do it. Doing the maintenance every 6 – 12 months will keep the system running at its peak performance.
• Do not overfill the washer or it will not dry properly. This is not a full sized system and you can only fill it ½ to 2/3 full. This is a perfect size for 1-2 people.
I have had the system for a month now and have probably done 30+ loads of laundry in it. I am very happy with it. It was easy to install and is easy to run. I would defiantly recommend it to anyone.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James_M
Location:Charleston SC

Very Pleased

Date:March 24, 2015
I have had the machine installed for a week and it has preformed perfectly. Load the machine per instructions and my clothes come out dry. It's a perfect fit aboard my boat.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mairead

Solid "good"

Date:April 27, 2015
Considering what it does, I am pleased. Overall, it does not perform as described. You can either wash clothes or wash & dry clothes. You can not wash them and then dry them. i.e., have a moment to throw a dryer sheet in. If you separate the tasks, the clothes come out as wet as if you didn't run the 50 minute "dry" cycle. Also, if you do not do the wash/dry combo cycle, the clothes come out smelling exactly like the worst smelling thing that went into the load. Weird, but true. Pro tip: if you have smelly socks, say; definitely don't just wash and hang out to dry. They will come out smelling like they were not washed at all, regardless of how perfumey your detergent is.
That being said, once you resign yourself to what the machine can and can not do, it's fine.
There is a moment of extreme loud vibration, but it only lasts for a few minutes, and once it passes, the machine is very quiet.
Our space was very tight and did not accommodate venting so this combo was [ and is] the perfect choice. I would buy it again.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous

Date:March 23, 2015
The product arrived on schedule.
While assembling we found that one of the cables was a used item;
also, one small part was missing and we had to dash to a hardware store to replace it.
During the first few washings there was some squeakiing but this gradually subsided. Having said all that, I am now very satisfied with
this Combo. It has many good features and operates quietly. Great price. Note: it does not accommodate very large loads.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GAR

Great Product

Date:January 30, 2015
This machine does more than I expected and the washing of the clothes is very well done and the best surprise of all is that at the end of the dry cycle all the clothes are really dry. Just great.
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living Direct Buyer

Exceeded expectations

Date:January 27, 2015
I purchased this for my elderly mother who didn't have room for both a washer and dryer unit. I built a two foot high box to sit the unit on so she wouldn't even have to bend over to do laundry. The wash cycle takes an hour and the dry cycle takes 3 hours. Would recommend... this unit can also replace a standard dishwasher in a kitchen with no additional alterations required to your kitchen.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dolly
Location:Tampa, FL

Does the job but not impressed

Date:January 7, 2015
This is NOT a fast acting washer/dryer. A normal cycle takes 3+ hours to complete and sometimes I have to put it on an extra drying cycle or two. My water and electric bill sky-rocketed too! I should have just kept going to the Laundromat with the amount and time and money I have to put into this new machine.
Positives: It's really convenient to have a ventless washer/dryer with a built in water heater for our compact space.
+8points
18out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnieL
Location:Denver, CO

Great for limited space

Date:December 12, 2014
We live in a small 50's era ranch home. I've had a full size washer and dryer in my small kitchen for years. I found this unit and decided to give it a try. I love how little space it takes up. I've done a few loads now and it gets the clothing clean and it comes out smelling fresh. Because of the ventless technology, the clothes come out feeling damp, but I put them on a drying rack and they finish drying quickly. My husband was able to get in installed and leveled without any problems. I also love how it lets me know when it is done with a few little beeps. Overall I am very happy with the product and it's performance.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kelly

could be better

Date:December 22, 2014
It is a nice little washer. The only thing I have a problem with is the fact you cannot open the dryer door until it has went through the complete cycle. You should be able to turn the power off or something to get the door open. I am not quiet sure its worth the price though. Its just better
than nothing.
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GMA

So Far So Good

Date:November 5, 2014
I am so pleased with this washer/dryer combo. It takes a little longer than I had expected, but I have been putting a load in @ night & by AM their done. I would not do this with clothes that wrinkle easily., those I just wash & hang to dry. It was very easy to purchase this from you. Wish I had gotten sooner! Thanks, & continue the GOOD work.
+5points
13out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ashli
Location:Morro Bay, CA

No More Laundromat

Date:October 20, 2014
My husband and I live in a VERY tiny rental with no washer/dryer hookups. The landlord denied our offer to have them installed, so I've been going to the laundromat for over a year.
I finally came across this little beauty. It's AWESOME! It fit through our 24" wide doorway which was the first hurdle. After I bought the portability kit (wheels and faucet adapter), our second hurdle was passed because we didn't need hookups or a drain. The fact that this is ventless helped us to overcome another hurdle. The combination of its washing and drying capabilities sealed the deal.
I love this thing.
It's tiny... yes. I do laundry every couple of days.
The clothes come out dampish even when they've been dried... I just hang them on a drying rack.
Washing takes about an hour and drying can take anywhere from one to several hours... I don't care because I can do laundry whenever I want at home and am not at the mercy of the laundromat on the weekends.
This has solved so many problems for me and improved my quality of life exponentially.
My only issues: the wheels don't really roll very well, I wish the hook up hoses were a little longer (although this may not be an issue for others), and the unit will hold your clothes hostage until it is ready to unlock if you've used the dryer feature. The last one is probably the most frustrating. I know it's a safety feature, but I'll take my chances if I need my clothes out now as opposed to waiting for at least an hour for the dryer to unlock after it's cooled.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Functions As Expected: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installation/Assembly: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficient: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy To Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NoiseLevel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cleans Tough Stains: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cycle Time Speed: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GadgetGuy
Location:Long Beach, CA
Describe Yourself:Frequeuent User - 3-5 Times Per Week

I'm so mad...I didn't buy this sooner

Date:September 9, 2014
Best Uses: Clothes, Delicates, Efficiency / Studio Living, Living Space Without Washer / Dryer Connections
This washer/dryer combo is the best thing I've purchased in quite a while. After my stackable washer/dryer quit on me, I decided it was time to find something better. I was torn between the LG combo and the Edgestar, but the reviews gave the Edgestar much higher rankings. It was also about $400 cheaper. It was very easy to set up (just READ the instructions well). It is so tiny that it fits anywhere. I got upset when I started it because I thought it wasn't working. Turns out, it is SO QUIET that I couldn't hear it running. The wash cycle sounds like rain gently hitting a window. The spin cycle is a little noisier, but it's only for about 5 minutes. The dry cycle is fairly quiet, except for when it sends the extra water down the drain... that's the only sound you really hear. Even the chime when it is done is fairly pleasant.
My only gripe is that the instructions are TERRIBLE. I honestly think they left out the instructions about how to set the time. I can't figure out how to set the dry cycle on anything except for the cotton cycle. Maybe I'm just overthinking things. On the whole, I love this thing. It's awesome being able to set the delay on the start so that I have freshly washed clothes waiting for me when I get home from work.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Functions As Expected: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installation/Assembly: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficient: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy To Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NoiseLevel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cleans Tough Stains: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle Time Speed: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
scorpio67la
Location:Glendale, AZ
Describe Yourself:Occasional User - 1-2 Times Per week

Great Product

Date:September 1, 2014
Best Uses: Clothes, Efficiency / Studio Living, Living Space Without Washer / Dryer Connections
Yes, of course, it takes 5 hours to do a load of laundry. But that's how this type of washer/dryer is meant to work . . . no complaints there. I love that my clothes do not have to suffer the harsh effects of typical heat dryers. My only complaint is the timer -- it's useless. It says that the load will take, for example, 3 hrs and 15 minutes, but it's more like 5 hours. It might stay on "20 minutes left" for a half hour. And when it gets to "1 minute left," it might be there for over an hour. If the timer can't be made accurate, it should just be left off. Most washing machines don't have timers on them, so it doesn't need to be there.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Functions As Expected: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installation/Assembly: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficient: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy To Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NoiseLevel: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cleans Tough Stains: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cycle Time Speed: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CleanAndDryForever
Describe Yourself:Frequeuent User - 3-5 Times Per Week

What you must know!!

Date:September 1, 2014
Best Uses: Bedding / Sheets, Clothes, Delicates, Efficiency / Studio Living, Living Space Without Washer / Dryer Connections
I've had this machine for just over a year now, and had to have three service calls regarding the drying function. What you must know is, that while this little work horse is FANTASTIC!, and I LOVELOVELOVE! it, the dryer begins to dry less and less well, then when I first started using it. The techs that came out didn't have a clue as to why, and even changed my "heating coil" on the third visit. The video on Edgstar.com says to remove the lid of the machine (simple), take out the 5 screws on the top of the black heating fan, and force a dryer vent brush, or a coat hanger down around the drum to get as much of the lint as you can. Ok, but The tiny phillips screws on the heating fan are on so tight that I couldn't get them off myself. Nearly stripped them trying. Fortunately the SECOND tech did get them off. Together we pulled out the lint, with a coat hanger and put the screws back in-- NOT so tight. The dryer dried much better but not for long. So today (9/3/14) I had the time to pull it apart again and THIS time I noticed the FAN-CYLENDAR-VENT (dozens of "slits" in the fan wheel) were all complexity packed with lint. No tech, or video ever said anything about how bad the lint in the fan gets….So, with a fondue fork, I poked through the slits, one at a time, and cleared all the lint out of the fan. I also repeated the drum scraping too with a long bottle brush. A lot of lint in there this time. ...The hardest part about this maintenance is getting the screws out the fan casing first time, but the next times are a breeze. And yes, there are next times. Many. You will have to do this every 3 - 6 months for the life of the machine if you want thorough drying- -as there is no venting, and this is were the lint piles up. It impedes the drying function more and more, as more lint clogs the fan and in and around the drum. I has to be done again and again and again….VERY BAD DESIGN! but I can handle it.
Hope the staff here reads this and passes on this info so more users will know what to do and not need to schedule techs who don't know what to do. Best wishes!
+60points
63out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EdgeStar 2.0 Cu. Ft. FastDry Ventless Washer Dryer Combo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product Functions As Expected: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Installation/Assembly: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Energy Efficient: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy To Use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NoiseLevel: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cleans Tough Stains: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cycle Time Speed: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mad!
Describe Yourself:Use Laundromat Regularly

not so good

Date:July 4, 2014
when ours is done with dry cycle the clothes are as wet as after the wash cycle! the guy that came out to fix it ,didn't know anything about repairing it.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>